More Parents Should Ski

I had a wonderful day on snow and I was back home by lunch time!

Phil Matthews and his dad were at North Creek Ski Bowl competing in the NYSSRA series sprints hosted by Hudson United Racing Team (HURT).  Even though they didn’t compete against each other I noted that they finished their respective heats within seconds of each other.  It was heart warming to see them both out there!

More masters should do sprints!  I have heard many masters and now grand masters (whatever you want to refer to us old folks as) remark that they don’t do sprints.  Normally I would not either any more than you will find me on the track on a mid summer morning doing sprints.  Today was different!

Conditions at Gore could not have been better:  well machined 1.2 k loop expertly groomed,  marked, and in one spot, hand raked to perfection.  But only 24 showed up to qualify for a heat.  I was the oldest competitor by almost 20 years, and I had the slowest times by over 3 minutes.  So why do I say I had a good day of skiing?

  • Under the sprint format I didn’t have to worry about being lapped!  I had the whole trail to myself after everyone else reached the end of the double poling start!
  • My cardiologist has admonished against marathons, “The greatest benefit from cardio workouts is realized in 30 minutes, certainly under one hour.  You don’t have to beat yourself up for hours.”
  • Timers don’t mind waiting for three extra minutes for the slowest skier.  I recall many years Jim Schriener out in the cold with his blanket waiting a half hour for me to finish my last lap in a marathon ski!
  • Can you beat your son’s time, or your grandson’s time, or your BKYSL youth’s time?
  • Who knows you might get a challenge like I overheard, “Beat that collegiate skier and I will buy you a new pair of skis!”

As it turned out in my final lap, I skied more relaxed, more conscious of technique, and more conscience of my fast skis and almost a half minute faster than my qualifying time!  Yes, it was a good day.

Leave a comment